Recent Posts by Don Wardlow

Triple Threat Broadcaster Enberg, Dead at 82

By 0 Permalink 0

I can't open this piece with my usual "Here's how I see baseball," because I have no choice but to veer off topic for a day. No jaunty jokes, they can wait. I don't want to write them, and if you were a great admirer of one of the sports world's best broadcasters, as I was, you don't want to read them. Dick ...

A Column? This One Deserves a Book

By 1 Permalink 2

Hi all.  Here's how I see baseball on this Monday, Oct. 30. There are only a handful of individual baseball games which have warranted entire books being written about them.  One is obvious although I can't name a book written about it.  That's the Giants-Dodgers playoff game of October 3, 1951.  If you know a book ...

Wrong Night to Bed Down Early; Texas-Proud Astros Earn their Spurs in 11-inning Win; Yankees Fire Girardi

By 0 Permalink 0

Hi all.  Here's how I see baseball on this Thursday, Oct. 26. Whatever else may happen in this World Series, no man can deny the Astros belong there with the Dodgers.  After losing all 4 games with the White Sox in 2005  and losing game 1 Tuesday night, they bucked the odds and shocked the world with ...